I Need Your Help!

Last week, I posted an idea about how to evaluate pitching. It would help if you read that first, but not necessary. My question isn’t really about the idea, but how to implement it.

Basically, I want to give fans an opportunity to rate balls in play as they watch games. However, in order for my idea to work, this needs to happen almost immediately after the play is over, or people will forget what happened.

Unfortunately, the game data just doesn’t update fast enough for fans to be able to do this. They would have to wait at least 10-15 seconds, and probably much longer, before they could choose which play to rate. By that time, memories of the play will have been muddled, and the data would be much less valuable.

What this means is that I will need to collect these responses from fans somehow, BEFORE the information about that play (pitcher, batter, inning, base/out state, etc.) is released online. Here are the solutions I can think of so far:

  1. Have fans input all the contextual information themselves.
  2. Have fans input just batter and pitcher and get the rest based on time that the response was submitted.
  3. Have fans input inning and base/out state (and maybe score), and fill in the other info later.
  4. Accept that there will be a delay and hope that fans remember the play well enough to answer accurately.

I think option 3 is by far the best so far, but I’m sure there are better options out there. That’s where I need your help. How should I do this with as much accuracy and as little work on my part and the part of fans as possible?

Tagged

Leave a Reply

